As a staff user, I should be able to use the Delete key (windows) / fn+delete (mac) when editing notes.

Description

The problem: If you edit a note record, and remove part of the note by using the Delete key (not the Backspace key), hit save, then the edit appears to have worked (the change is even updated in the display), but as soon as you refresh the record, you'll discover that no change has been made.

Following these same steps and editing text in the unit title field, however, works fine. Users can also edit the notes text by using the Backspace key.

Environment

Tested in Chrome and Firefox, with Windows OS.

Also tested in Safari on a Mac using fn+delete, and the same problem happens.

Activity

Show:
Mark Custer
May 11, 2017, 7:08 PM

i can only assume it would have been reported more, too, but the problem probably goes unnoticed since it's so hard to figure out why the saves aren't taking place.

James Bullen
August 10, 2017, 3:04 AM

Upgrading CodeMirror is too risky for us to take on in the limited time remaining

Christine Di Bella
April 2, 2018, 5:47 PM

One question on this is whether we still want to use CodeMirror. If it's not, we need to identify the alternative. Could addressing this help with a WYSIWYG editor?

Thinking this will need to be broken up into tasks. Research will need to take place in a separate sprint from actually doing the work. Aiming to start research in a late April sprint.

(This behavior seems to be specific to notes; does not happen on title.)

Ryan Edwards
May 8, 2019, 5:58 PM

Hello,

We have also noticed the same behavior when using the delete key - when you use the Delete key in notes fields, rather than the Backspace key, the changes are not saved.

-Ryan

Ryan Edwards
Digital Access and Systems Librarian
Getty Digital
Collection & Content Management Systems (CCMS)
Getty Research Institute
1200 Getty Center Drive, Suite 1100
Los Angeles, CA 90049-1688
reedwards@getty.edu
310.440.7398

Natalie Adams
June 16, 2020, 2:06 PM

I have just tested this on AS 2.7.1 using a Mac.

I confirm that if I select text in a note and hit delete, and save changes then my deletion persists. If I position my cursor ahead of the text I want to delete and use the delete key before saving changes my deletion is lost.

As with this is a critical priority bug relating to core functionality in ArchivesSpace and it appears that the fix is ready for implementation: it would be excellent to have an update on implementation.

Assignee

Lora Woodford

Reporter

Mark Custer

Fix versions

Priority

Critical
Configure