While working in a resource where I know I am the only possible user, I’ve made changes and gotten the red “this resource has been updated…” warning saying another user updated the finding aid and I am asked to refresh, but if I refresh I lose all unsaved information.
Digital Access and Systems Librarian
Collection & Content Management Systems (CCMS)
Getty Research Institute
1200 Getty Center Drive, Suite 1100
Los Angeles, CA 90049-1688
This problem is continuing:
A staff member is seeing this “the resource has been updated by another user” message when she is the only possible person in the resource record, which seems quite odd.
Adding some more information here.
I have tailed the server log (I have it in INFO mode) while the staff member is getting these notices and I don't see any errors or warnings or anything else that looks odd.
I see that for about 15 seconds each minute the system is indexing and the only thing I can think of is that there is a process running when she is trying to edit the record so this "other user" is actually an ASpace process.
Turns out that even though it sometimes looks as though the data is lost (i.e. it disappears from the note field), if the user reloads that component or section of the finding aid then the data is actually there. But in some cases there actually IS data loss.
We are going to turn on DEBUG mode for 1 day to see if we can tell any else that way and then I'll update this again.
This is being handled through a support ticket so closing.